Simple Sequence – Modified Half Sun Salutation

I must admit, I enjoy the diversity and rigor of a solid, challenging asana sequence.  It’s definitely rewarding to work my way through a difficult series of poses, culminating with a peak pose that allows me to reconsider that ever elusive, ever evolving yogic “edge.”  However, as fun and satisfying it might be to hit “big” poses (well, big to me) like Crane, Monkey, or Firefly, there is a lot to say for simple, comfortable, reliable poses and sequences. 

Simple sequences are like old friends, poses you can always return to, regardless of where’re you’re at physically, mentally, or emotionally.  They are a call to honor fundamentals, to reestablish alignment, or to quiet the mind.  They may not be as flashy or as interesting as more challenging sequences, but maybe that’s the point.  For me, yoga is not as much about displays of physical prowess as it is about connecting the physical existence to the mental or spiritual.  And while complex sequences might expand the mind, they should be balanced by simple sequences that allow practitioners to integrate, develop, and deepen that expansion.

So without further ado, I present my first simple sequence.  It’s nothing new or revolutionary, so I don’t want to take any undue credit for it.  In essence, it’s s simple modification of the first portion of Ashtanga yoga’s Sun Salutation B, with the placement of Chair Pose move back a bit.  Its one of my favorite simple sequences to warm up my legs, as it involves both lengthening and eccentrically working the major muscle groups in the legs.  It awakens the entire lower half of your body and prepares you for the rest of your practice.  It’s also a perfect sequence to throw in after holding poses for extended periods, simple as a “shake out.”  As an added bonus, it’s a simple sequence you can do in the office to avoid the tightness that comes from sitting behind a desk for hours.  Give it a go, and don’t be afraid to modify it to fit your needs.

Simple Sequence – Modified Half Sun Salutation

  • Start in Tadasana (Mountain Pose), quadriceps engaged, creating a line of energy extending from your feet up through the crown of your head.  I prefer the Samasthiti Variation here, with my feet hip distance apart and my hands at Prayer Pose.
  • Inhale, reaching both arms up into Urdhva Hastasana (Upward Salute), extending your elbows and gazing up slightly. 
  • From Urdhva Hastasana, exhale and swan dive slowly forward into Uttanasana (Standing Forward Fold).  Let gravity take over here, and don’t be afraid to let your knees bend if you have tight hamstrings. 
  • As you inhale, raise your arms up over your head and sit your hips back into Utkatasana (Chair Pose).  You only need to sit as low as is comfortable for you; depth will come later.  Work on keeping your spine straight and your breath even.  Stay here for one breath.
  • On your next inhalation, use the strength of your legs, push back up into Urdhva Hastasana.  Be careful not to let your knees splay out or bend in as you stand up. 
  • Exhale and lower the hands back to Samasthiti.

You can repeat this simple sequence as many times as is necessary to get your legs going.  Use it as a break from sitting, a reminder that your legs are both strong and supple.  In fact, I may do a few rounds myself right now.

2 thoughts on “Simple Sequence – Modified Half Sun Salutation

  1. “For me, yoga is not as much about displays of physical prowess as it is about connecting the physical existence to the mental or spiritual.”

    I feel the same way. I use my very sporadic practice as a way to clear away everything that I allow to build up and bother me. I use the practice, along with walking, as a form of meditation, as well as a way to check in with how my physical being is doing.

    I am working on integrating more frequent practice into my life, as I know I am happier and calmer when I do. I am also working on reaching that calm state when I am practicing very, *very* closely surrounded by family: human, feline and canine.

    (Got up this morning and did a kid’s yoga fitness sequence with the child and I definitely needed it. Do you have any suggestions for yoga with kids? Or, just do what I would and be a guide when the child is interested?)

  2. Pingback: Asana Saturday: Standing Forward Bend | Confessions from the Mat

Leave a Reply

